Next stop: Miami, Florida?

30 Aug

Greetings from Phoenix, Arizona!

My name is Nicole, and I just graduated from Bates in May. I was born and raised in Bellevue, Washington (just outside of Seattle), spent my college years at Bates in Lewiston, Maine, and just moved here to my third corner of the country about two and a half months ago to start my two year commitment to Teach for America.  As fun as it is to put some pins on my travel map, I have a confession: I MISS BATES!

Right about now, the Junior Advisors (JA) and Residence Coordinators (RC) are arriving back at Bates, getting ready for the arrival of the Class of 2014 after their outdoor orientation (AESOP).  Facebook statuses are flooding my news feed with friends’ joyous exclamations of their returns to Maine.  I. am. so. jealous.

Not that my life here isn’t great – I am a teacher in a Maricopa Country Human Services Head Start program, and I get to read, color and play with three and four year olds all day.   But that doesn’t mean I don’t wish I could be back on that beautiful campus…not to mention the fact that it is about 25 degrees cooler up in Maine.

I am also in the process of getting my master’s degree in Early Childhood Education (M.Ed.) from Arizona State University (ASU), which is why this post has to be so short – I have work to do!  I’ll do my best to write more about my life down here, add some pictures, and share some of my favorite Bates memories in the process.

Best,

Nicole